Stephen Lane, MD

Dr. Lane is past President of ASCRS. Dr. Lane has served on the American Academy of Ophthalmology’s Committee of Secretaries as the Secretary for e-learning and e- Education.. He previously served as co-medical editor of EyeWorld and on the editorial board of the Journal of Cataract and Refractive Surgery. He was on the Executive Committee of ASCRS for 23 years and was Co-Chair of the Board of the ASCRS Foundation. He is recognized in Who’s Who in America, Who’s Who in the World and was also named as one of the Nation’s leading medical specialists in Best Doctors in America. Dr. Lane is a Clinical Professor of Ophthalmology in the Department of Ophthalmology at the University of Minnesota. Dr. Lane is a visiting faculty member of ORBIS International. Dr. Lane was actively involved in clinical research having participated in over 50 national clinical trials. In 1993, the AAO presented Dr. Lane with the Honor Award for teaching contributions and in 2002 he received the American Academy of Ophthalmology Senior Achievement Award and Secretariat Award. In 2011 Dr. Lane was again honored by the AAO receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award. Dr. Lane has been invited to give more than 300 invited lectures nationally and internationally and has presented more than 15 named lectures including the Binkhorst Lecture. In 2018 Dr. Lane retired from private practice after 33 years and accepted the position of Chief Medical Officer, Head of Medical Affairs, and Safety at Alcon Ltd in Fort Worth Texas.